gods at war by Kyle Idleman – Book Review

Wow.  I had read Kyle’s book, not a fan, and thought I had some idea what this book would be like, but wasn’t even remotely prepared for the things that were brought up in this book.  Kyle says that “false gods” aren’t just statues that we bow down to, but anything that takes the place of God in our lives.  He includes food, entertainment, money, success – all of those are things we go after without ever thinking that it could be a “substitute” for God.  But the reality is that anything we pay more attention to than God is an idol for us.  How much time do we spend just watching tv, compared to the amount of time we spend studying God’s word?  I know that I don’t do as well I should with this, but I had never thought about the “other things” as being “gods”.  If we agree that anything we give more time to is a “god”, than we’re disobeying a pretty big commandment – “Thou shall have no other gods before me”.  What a convicting thought!  This whole book was convicting, and really made me examine my heart and my life on a deep level.  The book has a lot of Scripture, lots of true stories, and great little sections called “Idol ID” that help you to think about where you’re at with each area.

I am grateful to have had the opportunity to read this book, and think I may have to read through it a couple more times.  I encourage you to consider reading it too, it truly is full of some amazing insight into an area that I don’t think many of us would normally consider.

I received this book free through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program.  I was not required to write a positive review, the statements here are all my own based on my true feelings about this book.

Leave a Reply

