Secrets by Robin Jones Gunn – Book Review

I have been a fan of Robin Jones Gunn since I was a teenager reading her Christy Miller and Sierra Jenson series, so I was SUPER excited to see this book – one for adults!  While I know what her writing for teens is like, I had no idea what it would be like when it was geared for adults, but I wasn’t disappointed.  She is still the same, amazing author that I remember!

The main characters in this book are Jessica, who just got a job teaching in a new town, and Kyle, a firefighter who is there after Jessica is in a pretty serious accident on her way to the new job.  While you can sense the chemistry between them right away, the author does a great job taking her time to get them there – where they both admit openly to each other how they feel.  In addition to these characters, there is one more that is very familiar to people who read the Christy Miller Series – Teresa Moreno.  I love how this author weaves the characters from previous books into her newer books – what a great way to keep the love of those characters alive!

There are parts of this story that are definitely surprising (secrets in Jessica’s past/present), and others that are tender and heart-warming.  You watch Kyle and Jessica develop a relationship, but you also see the relationships that Jessica develops with her students and co-workers.  You even get to see them all go on a missions trip together!  It’s a great book and definitely worth taking the time to read!  Secrets is the first book in the Glenbrooke Series, and I can’t wait to read the rest of them.  Robin Jones Gunn definitely lived up to all that I remember, and more!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for my honest review.  The thoughts and opinions expressed here are completely my own.

Leave a Reply

