I’m no Angel by Kylie Bisutti

I was completely intrigued by the idea of this book – the real life story of someone who became a Victoria’s Secret model, then gave it all up because she felt that was what God was leading her to do.  When I started the book, I had no idea what the story would be like, had never heard of the author, and thought that it was going to be hard to relate to someone who had been a model (not being the model type, personally), but I appreciated the way you could really “hear” the authors voice in her writing.  It felt like she was telling you the story, not like you were reading it, and it held my attention the whole way through!

The story isn’t just one about modeling, the modeling industry, or the pressures faced by models – it’s a story about love, about learning who we are, and about how to stand up for the things we believe in and against the things we don’t.  I admire the way the author shared, telling us the truth, even when you know it had to be hard to share some parts of that story with the whole world.  She showed herself to be very real, very easy to relate to, and clearly the kind of role model that we should all aspire to be.

At the end of the book, she included a really great 30-Day True Beauty Makeover, with devotions for each day, scriptures to read and think about, and questions to ponder.  This book would make a great study with a small group, especially one with teens or young women.  It’s important for all of us to understand that true beauty isn’t about what’s on the outside – but what’s on the inside instead.  That’s a lesson that the author had to learn the hard way, and I got the impression that she really wanted to save others from going through her experiences in order to learn the same lesson.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.  I was in no way expected or required to write a positive review – the thoughts and opinions expressed here are completely my own.

Link to a Video:  http://www.tyndale.com/x_products/videos.php?flv=I’mNoAngel_MainTrailer.flv

Leave a Reply

