The New Spirit Filled Life Bible – New Living Translation (NLT)

This Bible was something I couldn’t wait to review.  While I’ve been doing book reviews for a little while, I haven’t had the opportunity to review a Bible before now, and I’ve been really excited for the chance to review one!  I deliberately chose a  translation that I don’t normally use, because I thought it would be easier to compare it that way – and I was right!

The New Living Translation is a thought-for-thought translation, not word-for-word, and that really makes it very easy to read.  The study notes in this Bible are pretty fantastic, with things you never would have thought of before!  There are the “normal” notes (with great outlines!) at the start of each chapter, as well as the bottom of each page (as you see in study Bibles in general), but there are also three great additional resources woven throughout the entire Bible: Word Wealth, Kingdom Dynamics, and Truth in Action.

Word Wealth tells you about specific words (over 550 of them throughout this version of the Bible!), referencing Strong’s Concordance – the number of times it appears in the book or the Old Testament/New Testament, notes on other verses that have the same word, and the meaning of that word in a literal translation.

Kingdom Dynamics are the sections that are probably what most makes this Bible unique, because they are study notes from a large number of speakers and authors, and help you to really see how the Spirit is leading in forty-one unique areas.

Truth in Action sections are charts that, according to the description tell “how you how to act upon the summons the Holy Spirit is issuing in the Word”.  There are charts for most books of the Bible, and they are filled with really great, practical information.

I was impressed to see so many Kingdom Dynamics points in just the first few pages of Genesis, with thoughts and insights into the Word that are things that I hadn’t thought about before.  I especially appreciated how many of them would end by telling you to look up notes on other verses, and if you actually do that, you can dig even deeper into what’s being described.  While it might feel a little bit like a bunny trail, hopping around your Bible, it’s absolutely worth doing.  I actually thought it was fun!  There’s a lot you can find out if you’re willing to do a little bit of digging.  I read through some of the Proverbs as well, and really liked the study notes found throughout – especially the focus on the Holy Spirit.  No other Bible I’ve read has had that focus, and I thought it was extremely helpful!

All in all, this really is a great Bible on so many levels.  It’s great for study, great for reading, great for personal devotions, and great for helping you to see things in a way that you may not have considered ever before.  I absolutely recommend it!

I was provided with a free copy of this Bible from the publisher, in exchange for an honest review.  I was in no way required to write anything positive, the thoughts and opinions expressed here are completely my own.

Image

Leave a Reply

