Forever Friday by Timothy Lewis

This book was absolutely delightful!  I read it on a Friday, which somehow made it even better… since it’s all about postcards that were received each Friday.  I felt like I was “in” the story as I read it, and that was part of why I loved it.  The author is not one that I’ve read before, but after reading this book, I can’t wait to read more of his work!  I have always loved writing letters, and receiving anything handwritten in the mail is something that makes me very happy.  A book about people who valued written communication really was a complete delight to read.

It starts out with a man, Adam Colby, going through the leftovers after an estate sale.  One of the things he finds is a photo album filled with decades of postcards – six decades of cards sent from Gabe Alexander to his wife, Pearl.  As he reads through them, he feels like he’s seeing through a window into their lives and decides that he wants to find out what happened to them after the postcards stopped.  He spends quite a bit of time trying to locate the family, and finally finds someone willing to talk with him, although she’s definitely mysterious, and it takes quite a few meetings before he’s able to get anywhere.  Nothing about the book is predictable at all, and I liked that!  At the end, you see that the love between Gabe and Pearl really was real, and that Gabe was just an ordinary man – who loved his wife, and wasn’t at all afraid to show it.  You also get to see the start of another love story… definitely worth reading to find out how that plays out!

The book I received was an Advance Reading Copy, so I’m sure this has been corrected by now, but I did notice one “mistake” in it.  Page 146, about halfway down the page, the sentence that starts “The altercation between Clark and Mr. Alexander” needs a period at the end of it.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher, in exchange for my honest review.  I was in no way required to write anything positive – the thoughts and opinions expressed here are completely my own.

Leave a Reply

