Jesus on Every Page by David Murray

This book jumped out at me because I just finished spending a year studying the Old Testament (through an extremely in depth study!), and the front cover said “10 Simple Ways to Seek and Find Christ in the Old Testament”.  I am so glad to have read it – it was an amazing book, and I sure did learn a lot from it!

This section really stood out to me:  The New Testament’s view of the Old is not of contradiction but of completion and fulfillment.  Jesus completed what the Old Testament could only do in part.  We cannot say that Moses preached the opposite of Jesus because Moses spoke of Jesus.  We cannot say that Israel had only the law, and we have the gospel: “For indeed the gospel was preached to us as well to them”.

This theme ran through the entire book – that the Old Testament really was all about Jesus, pointing toward Him, and it wasn’t just a set of rules and laws.  I’ve always thought that the Old Testament was largely about Jesus, so the basic premise of the book wasn’t shocking to me.  That said, many times when the author would tell how he came to an idea or understanding of something, I thought “wow, that’s a pretty cool way to think about that!”  Even though I already had ideas about the Bible and how the books of the Old and New Testament came together, I picked up a lot by the thoughts that were shared throughout this book.  It was definitely worth reading, and I think it would be great to study with a group of friends to get their thoughts on everything too!

There are two “sections” to the book, the first showing how the author came to this understanding that Jesus was present in ALL of the Biblical text (he calls it his personal Road to Emmaus), and the second outlining the ten ways that the author suggests we look to see Jesus in what we read of the Old Testament (he does that by separating the books into groups to make it more simple).  He includes all sorts of Scripture to back up what he’s talking about, and quotes various authors/commentators/etc… it’s clear that this is a man who is well-read, who really did his homework in both his journey of faith, and in writing the book.  I appreciated that!

One of the things that I thought was really great about this book was the way the author had written up study questions for each chapter (and really good ones!), that would make this a great book to use as a small group study.  The only “negative” I had with that is that these questions are all in a section at the back, not after each chapter.  If they had been included with the chapters they went with, it would have made it a lot easier to use them!

This really was a great book, and I absolutely recommend it to others.  It makes you think about things in new ways, and is definitely worth taking the time to read!

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.  I was in no way required to write a positive review, the thoughts and opinions expressed here are completely my own.

Jesus on Every Page Cover

Leave a Reply

