The Mercy Prayer: The One Prayer Jesus Always Answers by Robert Gelinas

Lord, have mercy.  This phrase is often used to joke about something, I hear people using it whenever anyone does something that’s kind of crazy… but it’s actually a prayer.  It’s the one prayer in the Bible that God always answered (in both the Old Testament and New Testament), and the one prayer that will still always get a response today.  At least the one prayer that will give a response we can see and know about.  Jesus never turned away from showing mercy to those who asked for it.  This book showed how important that prayer was in the Bible, and how important it should be to us in our lives today.  The book goes through the many, many times that this prayer was uttered in the Bible.  The one we all probably know best is “Lord have mercy on me, a sinner”.  But there are others: Lord have mercy, I want to see.  Lord have mercy, I want to be healed.  Lord have mercy, Lord have mercy.  I appreciated how easy this book was to read, but I also really appreciated how easy it was to apply to our lives.  We each need to remember how important this little prayer is – to recognize that not all prayers are long, and full of extra words that sound good, but they can be short too.  Short can be just as effective as long!

This author was new to me, but he is one that I will definitely follow going forward.  His style was great, and the book was one that I really enjoyed!  I would recommend it to anyone looking to learn more about the Lord, ways to pray, and ways to recognize answers… even the ones that aren’t expected.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  I was in no way required to write anything positive – the thoughts and opinions expressed here are completely my own.

 

The Mercy Prayer Cover

Leave a Reply

