Little Book of Great Dates by Dr. Greg and Erin Smalley

This little book was filled with some truly fantastic ideas.  I’ve been married for seven years (hooray!), and while I know my husband and I love each other, we rarely go out on dates with each other now that we have two young children at home.  I appreciated the introduction, and how it talked about the need to make “date time” important.  Even when you have kids.  Our idea of “date night” is both staying in same room “together” after our oldest is in bed, and before the baby falls asleep.  Honestly. Fortunately for us, quite a few of these date ideas aren’t things that would require paying a babysitter for – they’re things we could easily do at home.  I like that!

It started with “A New Year’s Date”, and a great idea, but it did make me feel like the book may be hard for some to start at any other time than the start of a year.  I mean, I can’t be the only one who likes to do things in order… can I?  The book was clearly meant to be done in order, as some of the dates built off what was done in previous dates (for example, date 11 says “during the previous date, you developed a list…”).  This would be a great gift – ideal as a Christmas present, so they could start using it on January 1st.

Completely not related to the content, but the “innards” of my book were put in upside down and backwards.  Literally.  I had to flip the book to the back cover in order to read it.  I wonder why that was?

Overall, I thought it was a great book, and one that I am anxious to start using!

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  I was in no way required to write anything positive, the thoughts and opinions expressed here are completely my own.

Leave a Reply

