Hopelifter by Kathe Wunnenberg

When I chose to review this book, it was because I saw a book that had information on how to help others, and I thought that anything that might be able to help me be helpful to someone else would definitely be worth reading.  I was pleasantly surprised to notice that the author knew people like me would read the book, and that she wanted to help more than just the “other people” – she wants to help the people reading the book too.  She said, “Although you probably picked up this book to help others, don’t be surprised if you find hope and healing in the pages for yourself.”  It’s true – this book is great in giving ideas for helping others who seem to have lost hope, but it really did help me in some of my hopeless areas too.

In the second chapter, the author says “hope is not wishful thinking, but trusting God Himself and what He has promised”.  What an encouraging reminder to each of us, that being hopeful is not the same as just being wishful.  We have every reason to be filled with hope when we remember that hope in God is the best thing we could have ever have.  And it’s the best thing we can do for someone else – remind of the hope they have in God.

This main portion of this book is separated into two parts – Discovering Hope, and Embracing Hope.  After that, you have 100 Recipes of Hope, one page stories that are specifically geared towards specific struggles (abortion, adoption, workplace struggles, loss of a child/parent/sibling/etc. and more).  The entire book is filled with verses to use, both for yourself, and in helping others… and most of the “recipes” include verses as well.  At the end of the book is a discussion guide, with questions for each chapter.  I thought that it made for a great personal study, but it would also make this book very easy to use as a group or even just to work through with a friend who needs the extra encouragement that this book can provide to them, in their own life.

I finished the book feeling even MORE of a desire to help others, and with some solid ideas on HOW to do that.  I think that’s what the author prayed for.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher, in exchange for my honest review.  I was in no way required to write anything positive – the thoughts and opinions expressed here are completely my own.

 

 

Hopelifter Book Cover

Leave a Reply

