The Jesus Story by Dr. William H. Marty

This is an incredibly enjoyable book, that takes the different things we read about in five books of the Bible – Matthew, Mark, Luke, John, and the book of Acts – and turns them into a storybook.  It’s all the same stuff you’d read if you picked up your Bible, but in a format that makes each story feel like it came alive.  It’s just like reading a normal book, and honestly, so much easier to read than holding your huge Bible!

There are seven chapters, each one focusing on something different: Birth and Childhood of Jesus (Matthew, Mark, and Luke), Jesus’ Early Ministry (The Four Gospels), Great Galilean Ministry (The Four Gospels), Later Jerusalem Ministry, Perean Ministry, and Journey to Jerusalem (The Four Gospels), The Crucifixion of Jesus (The Four Gospels), Burial and Resurrection (The Four Gospels), and The Story of the Church (Acts).  Each one explains things in plain English, and each chapter ends with a summary.  The summary is pretty short, but explains the high points of what was in that chapter.

While there was nothing in this books that was “new” to me, it was presented in a way that made it very fun to read, and would definitely be an easy book to give to others – both in witnessing and for new believers.  It’s even a book that those who have been believers for longer could enjoy.  I sure did!

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher, in exchange for an honest review.  I was in no way required to write anything positive – the thoughts and opinions expressed here are completely my own.


Cover Art


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s