Chronological Life Application Study Bible – New Living Translation (NLT)

This is one super cool Bible.  While it’s bigger (and heavier!) than some of my Bibles, it has SO MUCH incredible information in it, and it’s super easy to read – and to use.  It’s filled with pictures, with colors, with charts, and in many ways seems to be extremely interactive.  I know that might sound kind of silly, because we all know that books can’t respond to us while we read them, but on the other hand, isn’t that what the Bible does?  We know, from Scripture, that it’s “living and active” (Hebrews 4:12), so shouldn’t it be able to “speak” to us as we read it?  I really felt like that’s what this Bible did, in a way that my other Bibles haven’t done for me in the past.

This Bible has a website (http://chronolifeapp.com) and that site is FULL of great information.  It also has an area to sign up to receive daily emails, and if you go read the emails each day, you will read the entire Bible in two years – chronologically.  I think that’s a pretty cool part of this Bible and highly recommend subscribing to the emails, even if you don’t have a copy of this Bible.

There are ten “sections” to this Bible, and you can see your progress through each of them at the top of the page.  They are: Beginnings, God’s Chosen Family, Birth of Israel, Possessing the Land, United Monarchy, Splintered Nation, Exile, Return and Diaspora, Jesus Christ, and The Church.  The notes at the bottom of each page (the “study” part of this Bible) are pretty fantastic.  I have read a few different study Bibles, and while they all have good information, this Bible made the notes easier to relate to.  For example, in Isaiah 13:12, it says “I will make people scarcer than gold – more rare than the fine gold of Ophir.”  The note for that verse says “Ophir was known for its rare and valuable gold.  It is thought to have been located on the southwestern coast of Arabia.”  The notes in the Old Testament are full of things like that – explanations of various terms or places that we wouldn’t understand if they didn’t tell us more about them.  That’s great information to have, especially as a New Testament believer!  The New Testament has great notes too though.  For example, in Matthew 13:8 “Still other seeds fell on fertile soil, and they produced a crop that was thirty, sixty, and even a hundred times as much as had been planted!”  The note on that verse is really great – “This parable should encourage spiritual “farmers” – those who teach, preach, and seek to lead other to the Lord…. belief cannot be forced to follow a mathematical formula (i.e. a 4:1 ratio of seeds planted to seeds sprouted).  Rather, it is a miracle of God’s Holy Spirit using your words to produce faith in Christ.”  I’ve read the parable of the four soils (also referred to as the parable of the sower) many times, but I’ve never thought about how WE should think of ourselves as farmers in a spiritual sense.  As soon as I read it, I completely understood what they were getting at, I’ve just never thought of it on my own before (sad as that may be).  I’ve taken it much more literally, I guess.  This is just a sampling of notes and how they helped me, but there are many, many more, and I am sure that you would have a lot to be able to take away from the notes as well!

At the end of the Bible (after Revelation), there’s a section called “Book-by-Book”.  That gives information on each book, the “blueprint” of the book, and the “megathemes” that are in that book.  For example, the Blueprint for Exodus shows three points: Israel in Egypt, Israel in the Wilderness, and Israel at Sinai.  Each of those has anywhere from three-five points under it.  The Megathemes are: Slavery, Rescue/Redemption, Guidance, Ten Commandments, and The Nation.  They give an Explanation sentence/paragraph for each, and then some information on the Importance.  This is really a fantastic study guide to help you dig even more into each book of the Bible!

All in all, I found this to be a terrific Bible, and one that I know I will enjoy using in the years to come.  I highly encourage you to check it out as well!

I received a free copy of this Bible from the publisher, in exchange for an honest review.  I was in no way required to write anything positive – the thoughts and opinions expressed here are completely my own.

Leave a Reply

