Satisfied by Jeff Manion

The idea of reading a book about how to live a “contented, satisfied life” spoke to me… not because I felt like I was overwhelmed by the wrong behaviors or attitudes in life, but because I wasn’t.  And if I wasn’t, then it could be because it wasn’t an issue for me, or it could be because it is and I just hadn’t realized it yet.  (Far more likely that it’s the latter one of those, by the way!)  This book was filled with examples, seriously thought-provoking questions, and ideas that made you take the time to truly think about how you live your life.

For example, one thing suggested was about the areas of “excess” in your life, and as the author listed things he gave away or got rid of, one thing that jumped out to me was his cd collection.  I have quite the extensive cd collection, but it’s been quite a few years since I’ve even listened to most of them.  Once I put them all the music on my ipod, I really haven’t listened to them… so why have I held onto them?  Those types of suggestions given in the book, which may seem pretty small, were actually really important things to consider.

As a result of reading this book, I’ve really started to look at my life at new ways.  Why do I have the things that I have?  Why do I feel like I need to hold onto books/cd’s/dvd’s/etc?  Now, in fairness to me, I really LOVE books (as can probably be seen by the fact that I even started this blog!), but do I need to hold onto so many of them?  I think we all have things in our life that aren’t really “necessary”, and part of being truly satisfied in life is learning how to be happy with not just have we have, but less than what we have.  We’ve been incredibly blessed in this country to have so much – why not give some of it to someone else who could actually use it instead of keeping it in a box or in storage most of the time?

This book would definitely be challenging to anyone who reads it, and like it would be great for a small group study.  The questions it includes are tailored for groups to use, and I would personally love to have a group to share with!

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher, in exchange for my honest review.  I was in no way required to write anything positive – the thoughts and opinions expressed here are completely my own.

Satisfied Book Cover

Leave a Reply

