Crash the Chatterbox by Steven Furtick

This was a hard book for me, because it really hit me right where I needed it to.  The book is all about the voices we listen to – in our head, in our heart… and how we often (far TOO often!) listen to the wrong ones.  I think girls are especially susceptible to this, but I’m sure guys do it too!  The author tell us that “this book is built on four confessions… meant to function like noise-cancelling headphones for your mind, heart, and soul.”  He goes on to tell us that they are:

Confession 1:  God says I am.

Confession 2:  God says He will.

Confession 3:  God says He has.

Confession 4:  God says I can.

While these four confessions seem simple, even simplistic, they are each true.  There is Scripture to back each one of them up.  And they each have power.  But they aren’t going to change our lives unless we believe them, and trust that God is who He says He is, He will do what He says He will, and I am never going to be alone because He’s always with me.  That is incredibly powerful!

The book goes into great detail about each of these, and expounds on why the confessions are important, but also why the thought behind each of them is important.  He does a fantastic job making it seem like anyone can learn to move past that inner voice, the voice that is NOT the voice of God talking to us, but a voice that is only speaking things to make us doubt ourselves, and to doubt God too.  The author makes it clear that while there’s no way to completely be rid of the chatterbox, there are ways to help silence it.  As someone who has a very noisy chatterbox (and is also a chatterbox herserlf, ha ha!), I really appreciated the way things were presented in this book.  Nothing that was shared was earth-shattering, but it was good, sound advice with practical ways to change how you look at things.  It’s important for us to understand that we’re not supposed to listen to the chatterbox – we’re supposed to listen to the still, small voice of the Lord.  He doesn’t talk to us to confuse us, and when we’re feeling conflicted about something, it’s highly likely we’ve been listening to the chatterbox!

At the end of the book, the author gives you the website for this book – http://www.crashthechatterbox.com – and invites readers to visit the site, click on “Calling all Chatterboxers” and find all sorts of additional information.  I went and checked it out, and while I couldn’t find that link to click on, I did find some great video clips of interviews with people I know from other books and studies.  They included: Dr. Henry Cloud, Shaunti Feldhahn, Christine Caine, and Mandisa (among others!).  Those video clips are well worth checking out!

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher, in exchange for my honest review.  The thoughts and opinions expressed here are completely my own.

Leave a Reply

