Passion by Louie Giglio

“The heartbeat of Passion is to inspire a generation to know Jesus and live for His glory.  If Jesus is truly the only place we find grace and significance, we want to run after Him above every other name… an we want to live to make His name known.”

Louie Giglio is known as the founder of Passion, a movement gathering 18-25 year olds since 1997, and growing larger each year.  This book pulls together a “collection of talks” from Christian speakers/pastors/leaders, including: Francis Chan, Beth Moore, and John Piper.  I found these to be really incredible talks.  You could tell they had been spoken, and that these individuals spoke at Passion conferences.  But they each had profound things to share, with an audience who needed it at the time, and with the audience reading this book now as well.  That’s pretty amazing, that their messages weren’t just for the group they gave them to in the first place!  I love how God does that – He has this great way of making things relevant, even years and years after the fact.  What a cool God He is!

I’ve know about the Passion movement for quite awhile, but this was the first I had read anything about it, or by Louie Giglio.  I finished the book feeling almost like I had been able to be there, as part of their meetings, and I think that was the best part of the book.  It opened up the possibility of “participating”, no matter where we are.  The book was filled with Scripture, great quotes from the great authors of the past and present, and a lot of thought-provoking material.  But what I loved most was the way it gave me (as the reader) the ability to feel like I was there, and what a gift that was!

Completely not related to the content of the book, but purely as an editorial remark – on page 174, there’s a sentence “we’re not that far from home”, but the “e” at the end of “home” is missing.  If the book is ever re-printed, that “e” needs to be added back in!

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher, in exchange for my honest review.  I was in no way required to write anything positive – the thoughts and opinions expressed here are completely my own.

 

Leave a Reply

