Here to Stay by Melissa Tagg

This book was one of the increasingly rare books that absolutely held my attention from the moment I started it until the moment I reached the last page.  I now have two young kiddos, so reading a book straight through has gotten more complicated than it used to be.  I’ve learned though that if I read the first couple pages and really love what I’m seeing, I should wait until naptime to read the book.  That’s what I did with this one – I got so into it that I had to wait… and oh boy, was it ever worth that wait!

Autumn Kingsley is the owner of an inn that has been in her family for quite awhile, one that she was kind of forced to take over.  She’s anxious to go see the world, and can’t believe her luck when someone that she thinks is a potential investor comes to visit, and she’s sure that it means her dream of getting to head to Paris has finally come true.

Blake Hunziker has a history in town, and sadly, it’s not quite the history that endears him to everyone.  When he comes back after a five year absence, he is shocked to have a job offer – contingent on whether or not he’s successful at pulling off the Christmas festival (an annual event in town).  While he has a lot of talents, organizing a party event for the town isn’t something he feels like he has the ability to do.  So he enlists the one person that he thinks could help – Autumn.

The Kingsley and Hunziker families definitely do NOT get along, but Autumn and Blake work out a trade that will help each of them with things they need.  Blake needs help coordinating the festival, and Autumn needs maintenance help with her inn.  It takes  awhile for them to be able to work together with any sense of “team”work, but they do get over their issues with each other and, as tends to be the way these books work out, they wind up together.  But it takes some time, while they both have their own baggage and “pasts” to deal with.  Autumn isn’t planning to stay, Blake doesn’t plan to leave.  Autumn has a good reputation in town, Blake, well… his isn’t so good when he comes back.  Autumn wants to leave town, but as she’s starting to repair and update, she actually had a bathtub fall through the floor and land on the dining room table.  While she’s having a dinner party.  It was really pretty funny to read about, but absolutely heart-breaking for Autumn!  I actually laughed as I read about that, but smiled as I watched her deal with the aftermath of that experience.  The book was a great one for showing true emotions, with people who had to deal with situations and were being very real about it.  I think it takes a special author to do that!

This was a really great book, and made me want to read more by her.  I’ll be excited to see what she writes next!

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher, in exchange for an honest review.  I was in no way required to write anything positive – the thoughts and opinions expressed here are completely my own.

 

Here to Stay

 

Leave a Reply

