The Quiet Place by Nancy Leigh DeMoss

Having read (and reviewed) another book by this author, I was really (really!) excited to be able to review this one too.  A daily devotional, each one page long, this is a beautiful book with a gorgeous cover.  It would be perfect to give to anyone as a gift, but I loved that it has a soft cover and can handle lots of wear without getting any “tear”.  

Each day starts with a verse (or two), has a few paragraphs of devotional thoughts, and ends with questions to reflect on and ideas for ways to take what you’ve read about, and put it into practice in your life.  I feel like the questions and thoughts that are posed are almost more important than the devotionals you read, because they’re fantastic little nuggets to chew on throughout the day.  As an example, the reading for October 20th has you read Exodus 34:27, talks about the importance of having a written remembrance, and then ends with the following suggestion: Consider taking time to write out selected passages of Scripture that particularly speak to you.  See if they don’t go from your hand to your heart.  I felt like that was perfect, and not necessarily something that would take long, but a good thought to consider and easy to actually do!

I have appreciated being able to use this devotional, and I’m really excited about incorporating it into my daily routine going forward.  I would absolutely recommend it to anyone looking for a new devotional to use!

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher, in exchange for my honest review.  All thoughts and opinions expressed here are completely my own.

The Quiet Place Cover

 

Leave a Reply

