Where Courage Calls by Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan

This book is a “special companion story” to the new tv series on the Hallmark Channel, When Calls the Heart.  I haven’t watched any of the episodes, but based on this book, I can’t wait to see it! Beth Thatcher has spent her entire life surrounded by wealth, and she really shocks her family when she tells them that she wants to go spend a year in a rugged, mining town.  While she has her concerns about it, she really feels called to do something that her Aunt Elizabeth had done – teach.  Her father is supportive, her mother is not.  Beth has had a lot of health concerns, and her mother dotes on her – and that’s putting it lightly.

Despite the fact that school has to be held in what used to be a saloon, the fact that many locals don’t speak English, and Beth is struggling to find her place in town, she comes to a point of peace with what she has (or doesn’t have).  A visit from her sister helps solidify her feelings, as her sister is so bothered by things like an outhouse, where Beth has just gotten used to it.  There is (of course) a romance in the book, but not the one that Beth’s family expects to be happening… and not the one that she expects either.  The book ends with the feeling like there will be more to the story, but I guess that makes sense given how it’s written to go with a tv series.  I wonder if there will be another book?

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher, in exchange for my honest review.  All thoughts and opinions expressed here are completely my own.


Where Courage Calls


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s