Go Fresh (Cookbook) by the American Heart Association

As someone who is trying (very hard!) to make healthy decisions about what our family eats, I got pretty excited when I saw this cookbook available for review.  The front cover alone made me think that a lot of what would be in it would have fresh ingredients (fresh veggies tend to give you that impression!), but the description on the back cover told me that I was right.  I appreciated that the front section of this cookbook included some great information on healthy swaps, shopping and storage tips (very important with fresh produce!), and even a section with tips, tricks, and timesavers.  They were easy to read, and easy to implement.  But the recipes were great – broken down into sections that make sense, and with ingredients that were easy to find in the store, and easy to actually use.  A few of the recipes seemed like things I would have made before, but they had new twists with new veggies or fruits, and some of the recipes were for things I had never tried to make from scratch before, but once I did it, I can’t believe I hadn’t tried sooner!

A great perk of this cookbook is that the complete nutritional information is listed for each and every recipe, giving you a very easy way to track the details about what you’re eating.  If you follow any kind of “plan” for eating or dieting, this will be important to you… and even if you don’t,  having the information available makes it very easy to get started!

Two recipes that would be well worth trying to start – the Beef Barley Vegetable Soup (extremely yummy!), and the Key Lime Cream and Fresh Fruits (YUM!).  You should absolutely check them out!  There are more, but those two were a great start for me, and both recipes will be a part of what I continue to make going forward.

I received a free copy of this cookbook from the publisher, in exchange for my honest review.  I was in no way required to write anything positive, all thoughts and opinions expressed here are completely my own.

Go Fresh Cover

Leave a Reply

