let’s all be brave by annie f. downs

Are you brave?  Really?  I wouldn’t say that I am.  I mean, there a lot I’d be interested in doing, but if push came to shove, I’m not sure if it would ever happen.  This author made it clear that we are all brave, and that the only thing holding us back from that is our own fear.  I saw a video about this book awhile back, and it really sparked my interest.  When I saw that the book was available for review, I was pretty excited – it definitely didn’t let me down!

The author wrote this book to show us all that we do have courage, and “everything (we) need to be as gutsy as (we) could dream”.  Her thoughts are pretty inspirational and she draws from her own life, as well as the lives of others she knows and Bible stories – each of them showing that God can (and does!) help us to overcome fears and uncertainties.  I was really inspired by this book, because in spite of being someone who can very outgoing, I do have a whole lot of uncertainty in my life at times.

I think the best paragraph was near the start of the book:

“I believe in the me God made and in the me God can make.  I believe he made me on purpose and didn’t make any mistakes when it came to my creation.  I believe he is doing a good work in me, and in you.  And that though I am flawed, God is loving me and refining me and reminding me that God in me is where I can place my trust.  And that is where I find my courage.”

Everything she says after that just reinforces her thoughts, through stories and humor… it’s a wonderful book, that is easy to read, and hard to put down.  Isn’t that what every author would love to hear?  But it’s true.  It’s written in a very conversational tone, and that makes it feel like you’re talking with her.  I ended the book feeling like I had made a new friend, and I can’t wait to see what else she’ll write later on!

On a side note, I loved the cover design for this book, and I really appreciated how the author said she loves it too.  She told us in the video that she even sent yummy treats to the designers – that’s an author with a whole lot of gratitude right there!  There’s more interesting stuff in the video, and you should definitely check it out:

http://www.faithgateway.com/author-chat-with-annie-downs/?live&spMailingID=46740366&spUserID=NTY5ODY1OTQzMDQS1&spJobID=501935813&spReportId=NTAxOTM1ODEzS0

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher, in exchange for my honest review.  I was in no way required to write anything positive – the thoughts and opinions expressed here are completely my own.

Lets all Be Brave Cover

 

Leave a Reply

