I Can Learn the Bible by Holly Hawkins Shivers

This little book is one of the absolute coolest things I have ever seen.  As a parent of two young kiddos (our oldest is four, and our youngest is almost 18 months), I chose to review this book because I thought it might be something I could use with our little guys.  I am absolutely thrilled to say that it is.  To start with, the book has a hard cover (much more durable for little hands to be grabbing), and it has a super fun graphic on the cover (major kudos to the person who did the cover design!).  But more than being fun on the outside, this book is tons of fun on the inside too.  Each week has a relatively simple verse on a really fun graphic, then there are three pages with info you can study that week, related to the verse you’re working on memorizing.  That information is broken down into little nuggets, so it’s easy to sit down and read one section if you don’t want to do all of it at the same time, but the way things are described is perfect for little ones.  If you’ve read many “kids” books, especially if it’s based on an “adult” book, you will know what I’m talking about.  It can be very hard at times for the ideas/concepts/stories to translate into something that kids will grab onto and be able to appreciate on their own level.  This author did an incredible job making the book easy, understandable, exciting to read, and FUN!

I can’t wait to get started on this book with my kiddos.  I really do want to make the Bible a regular and consistent part of their lives, not just in Sunday School or preschool or Vacation Bible School (VBS), but at home and on a daily basis too.  I’m so excited to have this book as a resource, and think it’s a wonderful way to make the Bible come alive for children.  Long before they’re able to sit and read the Bible for hours, this book will help to make the verses come alive in a way that makes sense to them.  What a gift that is, on so many levels!

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher, in exchange for an honest review.  I was in no way required to write anything positive – all thoughts and opinions expressed here are completely my own.

I Can Learn the Bible Cover

Leave a Reply

